Skip to content

Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies (Frozen Dough)

June 19, 2010

Wow, it’s been a while since my last update! I’ve just been having exams and my timetable this semester has been the most intense one I’ve ever had (3 exams in 2 days anyone?), and knowing me I left studying to the very last minute and wasn’t able to find anytime to update. But I’m back! Kind of. I have one more exam on the 26th but that should be sweet, then I’ll be back with more time to do baking and photographing and writing and sharing =D

Here are some cookies that I did manage to bake during exams. The dough was made beforehand and the dough balls were frozen so they were a quick solution to freshly baked cookies while I was busy studying!

It’s always around exam time when I start to wonder if I actually learned anything at all the entire semester. Studying is such a task itself, cramming everything into your brain, saturating your brain cells with information that immediately disappears when you walk out of that exam room, free.

I’ve consumed more sugar and caffeine than anyone should ever consume in a 2 week period. I was sleep deprived and spent every day sitting in front of my books until the words started to blur together. Exams are not fun. But the late nights are totally worth it in the end when you feel happy about how an exam went and these frozen cookie dough balls sure made things easier by quickly satisfying any sugar cravings I had.

I used regular whole wheat flour and I also added in some raisins because I had some on hand. They were a nice chewy addition! I didn’t know how the cookies would bake straight from the freezer but they came out fine! They were soft and buttery. I loved the walnuts and the cookies were made even more nutty from the whole wheat flour.

If you like to munch on snacks while studying, maybe try freezing cookie dough balls too or you could even make some as a back up for unexpected visitors or unexpected picnics or a quick gift for a forgotten birthday!

White Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies
Recipe from Joy the Baker

makes 2 dozen cookies

2 1/4 cups white whole wheat flour or regular whole wheat flour
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup brown sugar, firmly packed
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 cup unsalted butter, softened (226g)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 eggs
1-2 cups semi sweet chocolate chips
1 cup chopped walnuts I used 1/2 cup walnuts and 1/2 cup raisins

Combine flour, salt and baking soda in a bowl, whisk it together and set aside. Combine brown sugar, granulated sugar and softened butter in the bowl of an electric mixer. Beat until creamy, about 3 to 5 minutes. Add vanilla extract. Add eggs one at a time, beating for 1 minute in between each addition. Add dry ingredients all at once and mix well. Fold in chocolate chips and nuts if using.

Line a baking sheet with waxed paper. Drop cookie dough by the tablespoonfuls onto the baking sheet. Place them very close together so that as many cookies balls as possible fit on the tray. Put the cookie sheet in the freezer and chill dough balls until frozen through, at least 3 hours. Remove the sheet from the freezer and place dough balls in a freezer safe bag and place back in the freezer until ready to bake.

When ready to bake cookies, preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Place frozen dough balls on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Leave a few inches in between the cookies, giving them room to spread. Bake for 10 to 12 minutes or until golden and irresistible.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Meggie Wallace permalink
    June 19, 2010 12:51 am

    Looks awesome! I love whole wheat goodness more than regular flour these days… not because of the healthy factor (although it’s a bonus), but because of the flavor. Yum! and with chocolate? *gobbles*
    Can’t wait to make these! Thanks for posting!

  2. June 19, 2010 1:36 am

    Yum Yum !

  3. June 19, 2010 9:53 pm

    i wanted to lick the screen

  4. June 22, 2010 7:54 pm

    I love the freeze and cook method. Really great for unexpected guests, or unexpected cravings! Good luck on exams!

  5. June 26, 2010 1:56 am

    These look great, I like the idea of freezing the dough, nice one thanks.

  6. July 8, 2010 12:04 am

    Delish and healthy-ish too. I must prepare a batch to freeze so that I always have a supply of cookies!

  7. July 18, 2010 8:39 pm

    more! mmmm i like that cake with the green insides.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

