Skip to content

Wicked Chocolate Brownies

June 4, 2010

I was craving chocolate brownie the entire day. Throughout my lectures I daydreamed of the brownies fudgey warmness straight out of the oven and then washing the richness down with a glass of cold milk.

Wanting to taste what I had daydreamed sooner than later, I went straight to the kitchen when I got home and used the first recipe I saw: the one on the back of the flour bag.

I hardly ever use recipes on the back of bags. I don’t know why but I have this perception that they won’t be as good as the ones, for example, in cookbooks. It’s silly, I know and this perception needs to change.

The recipe gives you a choice of either adding white chocolate or walnuts. Choices are nice. I absolutely love both but in the end I decided with white chocolate.

While I was chopping it up, I could smell it’s sweetness. I knew then it was a good decision.

This brownie is dense and moist. The slight bitterness of the cocoa goes well with the smooth, sweet white chocolate. I halved the amount of sugar the original recipe calls for because I thought the white chocolate would be sweet enough but if you have more of a sweet tooth, go for the full amount.

Just a note about the white chocolate. Be careful not to burn it. I overcooked this brownie a bit because I wanted to achieve the cracked top, which I didn’t get. Instead I got browny/yellowy chocolate chunks and that prompted one of my friends to ask, “What is that? Isn’t white chocolate meant to be…white?” It’s edible, I assure you! They may look radioactive but I swear they’re not!

This brownie definitely satisfied my craving and I definitely won’t be judging a recipe from it’s back-of-a-bag origins ever again.

Wicked Chocolate Brownies
Recipe from Champion Flour

200g butter, softened
1 1/2 cups sugar (I used half of this)
1 cup cocoa
3 eggs
1/2 cup standard white flour
150 g roughly chopped white chocolate or 3/4 cup roughly chopped walnuts
icing sugar to dust

Using an electric mixer, beat butter, sugar and cocoa for 4-5 minutes until creamy.

Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition.

Stir in flour and chocolate (or chopped walnuts).

Transfer mixture to a greased 20cm square baking tin.

Bake at 150C for 1 hour or until the surface of the brownie appears cracked. The centre should appear almost uncooked.

Cool in the tin. Cut into squares. Just before serving, dust with icing sugar.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2010 8:40 pm

    Yummy ! I really want to try !

  2. June 5, 2010 7:47 pm

    I go to a restaurant/cookery school and they serve brownies with white chocolate in them, so morish! I am definately going to try this recipe, thanks.

    • June 6, 2010 9:14 am

      A restaurant/cookery school? Awesome! I hope you’ll like the brownies =)

  3. June 5, 2010 11:37 pm

    Oh wow..these brownies look divine!

  4. June 7, 2010 12:05 am

    These look so good!

    I’m the exact same way with recipes that come on a bag even though ironically, my favourite cookies and cream ice cream recipe came from a magazine ad! :)

    • June 7, 2010 9:20 am

      Thank you =) haha I guess the best things come from the most unexpected places!

  5. Connor 12yrs permalink
    December 23, 2010 9:01 pm

    I love this recipe… I make it for all the time. yummy

  6. Jemima permalink
    July 30, 2011 9:27 am

    I recently used this recipe, and i posted about it in my blog:
    http://thegraduatestudentfoodblog.blogspot.com/2011/07/good-food-days.html

    Thank you!

  7. Litsa Jackson permalink
    November 28, 2011 6:14 pm

    Hello, I make this quite often but lately the top is forming a crust that comes away from the actual cake part, it rises about 1 cm higher, so when I cut into it it all crumbles. Still takes nice but looks a mess! Can someone please tell me what I’m doing wrong? Is my oven not hot enough? Am I over beating? I beat for 5 mins as recipe says then beat in eggs well…. I find that I have to cook it at least 15 mins longer too.

    • November 30, 2011 11:41 am

      Hi, the crust that forms could be due to over beating the eggs or over beating the batter after the eggs were added. Perhaps after creaming the butter and sugar for 5 mins, beat the eggs in on low until just incorporated and stir in flour until just mixed? About the baking time, maybe try preheating your oven for longer or buying an oven thermometer to check the temperature? Sorry I couldn’t be of much help!

  8. March 12, 2012 9:46 am

    My husband and I used this recipe for the brownie tower as our wedding cake. Lost track of the recipe though, so stumbled upon your blog looking for it. Thanks :) Beautiful photos – will have a browse.

  9. June 3, 2012 2:57 pm

    I make this recipe too. Just as good as the ones I got in the USA. I did a bit of research though and found that dark chocolate was way more popular than using white. Mmmmm…

  10. Jackie permalink
    October 26, 2012 5:58 pm

    When I cook white chocolate brownie the white chocolate always goes brown – any tips?

  11. alex permalink
    April 1, 2013 10:11 pm

    amazing made with blended up bud instead of flour and weed butter :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

