Skip to content

The Best Chocolate Cupcakes

May 16, 2010

My friend Donna and I celebrated our birthdays this week. We were born on the same day, isn’t that cool…we could totally be twins.

To celebrate reaching our 20′s (2 decades…hot damn!), I baked chocolate cupcakes for everyone. They were good. Very good. I wish I could give you some too…just promise me you’ll make some soon. You know, for birthday celebration sake. You’ll like them.

These cupcakes were moist, very soft and light, not too chocolatey and just super yum! All my friends loved them and they were the best I’ve ever had. The name for these cupcakes is even “The Best Chocolate Cupcakes”. Trust.

I frosted them with the cream cheese frosting I had leftover from my carrot cake and then covered them with hundreds and thousands to make them colorful and happy!

These are delicate little babies. I was planning to bake tiny bite sized ones but that didn’t work out very well.

I didn’t have any mini paper baking cups so I thought it’d be okay if I just greased the cupcake pan…oh but it wasn’t. Some came out perfectly…some not so much.

In the end, I was left with about 10 cupcake tops that I pulled off as I was trying to get them out and pans with cake stuck in them. Sigh.

To make use of the cupcake tops, I put them on top of the regular sized cupcakes.

The rest of the mini cupcakes? I ate them =)

Like a cupcake cream cheese sandwich. Aren’ t they cute?

This post is dedicated to Donna! Looking forward to turning 21 with you next year =)

The Best Chocolate Cupcakes
Recipe from BakeBakeBake

2 cups (500 mL) all-purpose flour
2 cups (500mL) sugar
1/2 cup (125mL) cocoa powder
2 teaspoons (10mL) baking soda
1 tsp (5mL) baking powder
1/2 tsp (2 mL) salt
1 cup (250 mL) vegetable oil
2 eggs
2 cups (500 mL) of butter milk Twinkle’s note: I substituted this with milk and vinegar
2 teaspoons (10 mL) vanilla

Preheat oven to 350 degrees (180 degrees Celsius).

In mixer, on low speed, mix together flour, sugar, cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder and salt.

Add oil, eggs, buttermilk and vanilla.

Increase speed and beat for 2 minutes, until well combined.

Spoon into 20 paper-lined muffin cups, filling halfway.

Bake for about 25 minutes or until tops are firm and tester comes out clean.

Transfer to rack and cool completely.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 16, 2010 4:37 pm

    That’s very nice, yummy!!!!!

  2. DOnna permalink
    May 16, 2010 7:14 pm

    highly pleasant to the taste!
    they seriously are the best cupcakes i’ve ever had, looking at them is making me salivate.
    btw i loove the pictures, ur like the best food pphotographer ever! i think i might use ur pictures to make a food collage for my desktop background,. wouldnt that b awesome.
    anyways thank u very much for dedicating this post to me and sharing ur cupcakes with me and all ur frends! <3333333333333
    UR an amazing baker and im lucky to b sharing a bday with U! HOT STUFF!!!
    keep baking =D <3

    • May 18, 2010 7:44 am

      Ok, this comment just made my day…=D

      haha a food collage would be awesome! I still think my photos need improvement though but thank so much Donna!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

